My 12th Grade experience

When I reflect on my 12th grade experience, one thing in particular stands out: the way I relate to my own femininity. Over the summer, I discovered a podcast called Red Scare. It is a podcast with two female hosts from Russian descent who discuss art, philosophy, pop culture, and conservative politics. This was the first time that I heard other women speak honestly about what it means to be a woman. Red Scare touches on the beauty of being a woman in quite a primal manner; it removes itself from the influence of liberal politics in this discussion. Unlike any other female-lead podcast, they often discuss negative female traits. Though some may find these comments misogynistic, I found it liberating to hear these judgements that I attached shame to being voiced. I dissected my own female experience through this critique; I began to see how I have neglected my primal instincts out of shame. By nature, I have always been someone who finds fulfilment in caring for others, both emotionally and through acts of service; I saw this as a sign of submission and weakness. I have made an effort to lean into this instinct. I believe this to have impacted my political standpoint, more specifically: my views on abortion. Though I still believe that abortion should be legal and accessible, my relationship with motherhood and birth has changed. As gruesome and cavalier as this sounds, as a young girl, I believed that a fetus was merely a clump of cells. As I have become more in touch with biological female instincts, I sense that something inside me has changed; I believe life starts at conception, but the choice to have an abortion is far more complex than that.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Poppy
All posts