Staingate Resolved

I wrote previously about my successful effort to revive an old MacBook Pro by putting Linux Mint on it, but one thing I didn't mention in that post was the fact that this machine was also a victim of the infamous 'Staingate' issue, wherein the screen's anti-glare coating delaminates and wears away.

The opportunity to get the screen replaced for free by Apple lapsed years ago, before the damage had become noticeable, and paying a hefty sum for a new screen on this very old machine made no sense from an economic perspective. So instead I decided to investigate whether the damaged coating could be removed easily. I discovered a very in-depth discussion of the issue, which recommended using a baking soda paste as a mild abrasive, so thought I would give it a try - and it worked like an absolute charm. The coating came off easily, without leaving any scratches.

So I now have a clean, blotch-free screen that is somewhat shinier than it was before. The MBP looks almost new, a fitting accompaniment to the new OS that it is running. I suppose I could get an anti-glare protective film for the screen, but I'm in two minds about that. It would be fiddly to fit, and I'm all fingers and thumbs at the best of times...

More from Nick
All posts