OCD Helped Me Quit Alcohol and Coffee

OCD has been a struggle for me for the past year. There were moments that I felt like giving up, and there were moments of triumph. I wish OCD upon no one, but one thing it helped me do was quit alcohol and caffeine.

I never was a big drinker, but when I did drink, I ended up over consuming. I would get depressed and down on myself as a result. I wasn’t always this way, but right before my OCD revealed itself, it had gotten out of control.

Alcohol was not my only crutch. I was also addicted to caffeine. I would have 4-5 cups of coffee before 2:00 pm. This was a contributing factor to my panic attacks and extreme anxiety. As a result of this anxiety, out came OCD.

Going to the hospital 3 times after starting a new job was my wake up call to quit caffeine and alcohol. These substances were a mask that was covering the real issues. My General Practitioner put me on Zoloft, and I knew the time of using these substances was over.

Over the past year or so, I have switched over to non-alcoholic beer. It has been a wonderful transition. I don’t worry about hangovers anymore, and my mind is always clear. I switched from coffee to a mushroom alternative called MUD/WTR, and it has been great. I am energized without being jittery.

I look at my OCD and feel like it has helped me in certain ways. I am thankful for what I have, and I am taking much better care of myself as a result.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from russ
All posts