Sunday, Jan 29, 2023 at 4:37 PM

The 100 Day Writing Challenge. I can stick to it. And I do need something strong enough to hold me to my new found interest of writing. Can I say it’s new? Hmmm.

I used to write poems as a teenager. Enjoyed writing prompts and story telling in school. My down time allowed me to listen to music and write the lyrics down for later. I’ve considered script writing but that never really launched. I guess I’ve always enjoyed writing. I’ve always enjoyed reading as well, and that came first in life.

It was my Grandpa, may his soul rest easy, that really showed me how to love reading without forcing it on me. I’d see him late nights with a book, or even noticing one sitting above his toilet. We’d go over weekends and he’d take my brother and I to the library. Just because. Not even for the purpose of finding a book for us to take home. But to spend some time there. Sometimes he’d stay with us as we looked through the binds, and sometimes he’d go off on his own. Non-fiction usually.

We’d search through the isles of endless titles for a while until finding a few good books. I usually landed on mystery or some non-fiction. Still my go to today. Sorry to say I can’t quite remember what my brother’s choice was. Oops. I also remember days we’d go and the librarian would read us and others kids a book she chose. Sometimes we’d even go to a room to do some fun arts and crafts based off the book. It made reading fun and imaginative.

Writing and reading sort of go hand in hand. Reading teaches you the flow of writing and shows you many different writing techniques and styles. Something I always tell my daughter when she’s trying to learn how to do something is “just read the instructions” or when she’s doing some fill in the blank homework, “read through the passage, all the answers are right there”. I also tell her someone wrote all of that for a reason, it’s a skill someone acquired to be able to share information with others. A powerful tool very necessary for everyone to acquire.

Sticking to writing #100days will help boost my skills in writing that I very much need. I’m also hoping to inspire others and gain some insight as well along the way.

-Becca


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Sleepybabe4
All posts