Cast your cares upon Him

Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.- Philippians 4:6-7

My Pastor preached on this scripture in the middle of February. Who would have thought that a month after he preached a sermon called "Quit your worrying" that the world would be in such a mess and worried to the core? The current circumstances are enough to cause even the most rock solid Christian to have worry and doubts. Even if they aren't worried about the virus, there is so much unknown in what is happening. Is the economy going to bounce back? Will there be more businesses who collapse? What about the impacts that maybe aren't as evident right now like the mental health impacts of people being quarantined this long? I would be naive to think that the majority of people haven't had some sort of worry rise up. Let me remind you what verse 6 says....be careful for nothing: but in everything by prayer and supplication. What does that mean for us right here right now? To me that means when our doubts come and when anxiety is high the first place we need to go is to God in prayer. If I am being honest, that is not the first place I always go. Instead, I internalize my worry and play out scenarios that haven't taken place (and probably won't take place). However, when I internalize these things, I don't look back and say "wow, worrying about that really made me feel better." On the flip side if I get past myself and take it to God in prayer, I always have a sense of peace because I realize that the things I am worried about are beyond me. That is why this scripture is so powerful. God already knows what our situations are even before we pray but when we pray about the situation it is us releasing control and embracing His sovereignty. We connect with the only one who knows what tomorrow holds. The more we connect with Him the more we realize that what we are dealing with is bigger than we are but it is not bigger than Him. You may be filled with worry tonight but I encourage you to cast your cares upon Him because He cares for you.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Somewhereoffield
All posts