Nothing ever completes

In my 20's I thought my life would unfold in a straight line. Go to college, get a job, get married, have kids, retire, die. Each step nicely building upon the one before it until you're burned up into ash and the whole cycle repeats itself.

20 years of living later and I realize how deeply naive this view of life was. The idea of linearity assumes the idea of completion. After college you're done learning. After you get a job you've figured out what your profession is. Rinse and repeat.

But nothing ever completes. Everything in my life is messy and in process. My life is an art studio with several unfinished paintings leaning up against a wall. Some are starting to look pretty good but others need a lot of work.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Sunday Writing Club
All posts