Hospital Playlist (2019)

It has been a few months since I started watching this Korean drama on Netflix. Somehow I cannot shake it off of my head, which also prevents me from watching new dramas. Maybe because this drama has a second season? One thing for sure is that I'm really looking forward to watching the second season when it airs!

I find the friendships between 99ers to be hilarious and heartwarming. I wish I have this kind of groups sometimes. Unfortunately, I was a loner during university time and an introvert that ended up avoiding group gatherings that I was not familiar with. Now the pandemic made me even more reclusive. I do miss being able to meet people in-person now.

I tend to watch Korean/Japanese dramas based on the cast. The reason I watched Hospital Playlist was because of JJS. Unexpectedly, my list of actors/actresses to follow grow as a result of this particular drama. It was very interesting to see their audition tapes. The PD posted on his YouTube channel as a filler for the show's fans, which I'm glad he did. And somehow I start going down the rabbit hole of Korean theatre performance...

I wonder how they will incorporate the current pandemic into the storyline for season two. It's interesting to read fans' theories and analysis about the show. Some are very in-depth about analyzing the characters and even taken into account of the writer's previous works. I'm curious to see how they will play out the Wintergarden pair. (I'm too invested in this pair, haha) Some were surprised about Wintergarden pairing because they have very subtle interactions compared to the other pairings in the drama.

One interesting aspect of this show is the soundtracks, which are covers of existing Korean songs. The 99ers performed one song for each episode and there is also official cover version sang by actual singers. Turned out I quite like these tunes but the originals are harder to find on current streaming sites for non-Koreans :( I have mad respect for the main cast for learning the instruments just for the show itself. It's not easy! (I haven't touched my flute since high school...)

If you like slice-of-life stories, I wholeheartedly recommend this show!

More from LYN
All posts