Mr. Sunshine (2018)

I have been putting off watching this Korean drama for awhile. (It kept showing up on my Netflix.) But once I started getting hooked into the storyline, I just can't stop watching. Beware that this entry has spoilers.

There are probably a lot of websites with recaps and summaries. So, this entry would be my thoughts about the drama with some short descriptions of the main characters. I have watched the writer's previous dramas such as Secret Garden. I have "watched" (defined as paying some attentions while my family watching the show) Descendent of the Sun but it was not particularly my taste. Though the easter egg from that show had showed up here with the show's second couple as Ae-shin's parents.

The show revolves around 5 characters:

  • Eugene Choi, the son of Joseon slaves who fled to America. He joined the US Marine to gain US citizenship and was deployed to Joseon. But he is often been regarded as neither American or Korean.
  • Go Ae-shin, the noble lady of notable Go family. She is righteous, a sharp shooter and a fast learner.
  • Gu Dong-mae, the son of butchers who turned into a ruthless and fearsome Yakuza boss. A lot of people seems to be in debt to him. People often seen him as a Japanese rather than a Joseon man.
  • Kim Hui-seoung, the son of the richest family seconded to the King of Joseon. He was betrothed to Ae-shin and went to study in Japan. Although he appeared to be carefree and very easy-going, he harboured guilts associated to the actions of his grandfather and father.
  • Kudo Hina, the owner of Glory Hotel, where Eugene and Hui-seoung stayed. Her father married her to a Japanese whom she inherited the hotel when he passed. She is very resourceful and a beauty. She is close to Gu Dong-mae and also hired him to be the hotel's bodyguard.

The three guys have one common interest: Ae-shin. The trio were nicknamed by Hina as The Fool (Eugene), The Moron (DM), The Loser (HS). Their interactions are rather adorable though HS seems to often get the short-end of the stick. Both female leads have strong personalities, not the usual damsel-in-distress type.

When I first read the drama's summary, I was a bit hesitated about the main couple – Eugene and Ae-shin. The couple eventually grew on me and I found that I really do want them to have a happy life together. Their little dates, such as exchanging letters in their secret postbox and the lake visits, were very cute. Both actors are very good with expressing their emotions through the eyes.

Because I like the main couple, I do not have SLS for this drama (and also Reply 1994). Though I will confess that I originally want to watch this drama for Yoo Yeon-seok. His role in this drama is very different from Hospital Playlist, where he went from a doctor with childish side to a cold swordman. I definitely do not want to cross path with Gu Dong-mae. Despite his ruthless appearance, he has soft spots for those he cared about such as Hotaru, Hina, Ae-shin, and his underlings. Hui-seoung also grew on me in the latter half of the show. He was the comedic person of the group. I pitied him for having to give up his engagement but somehow his procrastination has indirectly led to this moment.

No one character is perfect. I agree with Eugene that despite his origin and circumstances, he now has a choice in the present. He can decide the paths he will travel. He did not forgive the Kim elders for what they did to his parents, but he also did not intend to go after Hui-seong. Their generation will move forward from the atrocities of the past.

Mr. Sunshine's OST is also quite an earworm. For some reason, Shine Your Star by O3ohn has been stuck in my head. And we cannot forget the sweet tune of 소리 (Sori) by Lee Suhyun of AKMU. Here's the official MVs. I will probably associate Greensleeve melody with this drama for awhile.

Thoughts after watching EP.17-24: Sigh, the show did warn us at the start that it has a "sad ending". The last four episodes were pretty heart wrenching because you know that deaths will be coming. (My friend didn't even want to finish the drama because of that, heh.) I'm glad to see the few moments that Eugene and Ae-Shin spent together. Their rings 😭

More from LYN
All posts