Comics Jan 2024

Recently read The Department of Truth by James Tynion IV.

It's brilliant and disturbing and the artwork is so appropriately gritty, infusing propaganda art with symbolism and alarming horror.

I read it because I've wanted to for a while, and James recently said he was going to start the series up again, so it was the first long series I've binged on this year.

It was such an intense read that I needed a little break afterwards, but no other comics were drawing me in quite like this.

Then yesterday I read Commute by Erin Williams. A completely different, but appropriately intense book.

A brilliant memoir of being female in a sexist world. Extremely accurate. Also possibly triggering for some. Men need to read this. But probably only the ones who understand this will.

Then today I finally got a diagnosis of 2 dislocated tendons, a torn tendon, and a torn ligament. After 15+ years of being gaslit by male medical professionals, a female doctor decided to refer me for scans. The torn ligament wouldn't even be torn in the first place if a single person I'd previously seen had listened to me and considered a scan. But no, I was just a silly little girl with weak calf muscles. Ok dickfuck.

In between the previous paragraph and this, I just read the first volume of W0RLDTR33 by James Tynion IV. Another masterpiece. 10/10. Would recommend binging on all his work.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from anna
All posts