Why I Like Listed and Standard Notes

On deciding which platform to start blogging on these were my three main considerations:

  • Easy to use ✔
  • Open source ✔
  • Free ✔

Easy to use

I know myself enough to realize that the motivation that I feel today will not be consistent. Some days I will not feel like doing it. Instead of hoping that that day never comes, I'd much rather have a plan to deal with it. Having a friction-less writing experience will give me less excuses not to write.

Open source

Technologies come and go so it's pretty important to consider whether the platform I'm writing on will stand the test of time. Standard Notes embodies the open source culture that I think is key to building software that is sustainable.

Free

I want to feel good about writing. Not reaching writing goals + spending money on it? That's almost certainly going to lead to me pulling the plug early. Listed is a free and hosted platform that has enough features to satisfy my needs. But it also has some neat paid features that I can see myself using in the future.

More from Vibe Check
All posts