On Writing

I have recently been introduced to the idea that writing is a form of thinking. That the physical act is not only a good way to write down thoughts but is a also the manifestation of thoughts themselves.

From my experience, the things I write down tend to last longer in my head. When I read books, I will sometimes write handwritten notes on the iPad and sketch diagrams.

When I try to recall things I've read a week ago, that I didn't write notes for, there is almost a zero percent chance the memory is clear enough to concisely talk about. The gist of the content is there but it always takes a lot of effort to reshape the understanding in my head to a point where it's clear enough to speak about.

After trying to recall the things I had taken notes and sketched diagrams for, it's so much clearer in my head.

More from Vibe Check
All posts