Thoughts on Medium

When I heard about Medium and the fact that I had to pay to read the articles, I never thought I'd subscribe one day.

Every month a proportion of my subscription payment goes out to the articles and comments I've replied to or read. The business model incentivizes quality articles, and the website has a considerably low amount of clickbait.

From my experience with writers on Medium, the level of engagement and back and forth is high. There's also a positive sense of community that allows people to share their stories and experiences with an in-built audience.

Even as someone who does not write articles on Medium, I do have reactions, replies, and comments. One thing that I found interesting was looking at my Medium statistics. The numbers are super entertaining and make it feel like a fun little game to optimize.

I think the algorithm does a good job picking out some recent good articles and some older gems. The date of writing is not that important to the algorithm compared to other social media platforms.

I'm still exploring Medium, but all in all, I like what I see. It feels like money well spent knowing my money is going to articles that I find valuable and without all the distractions of crazy algorithms like other platforms.

More from Vibe Check
All posts