Agency

It's important to live with a sense of purpose and direction. If none is there, ask yourself how much time do you spend thinking about what you want to do in life? How will you approach the next day?

Initiating, executing and controlling your own actions in the world is the virtue of Agency. Building a sense of agency will ultimately lead to a fulfilling life.

Making decisions might be hard, but never feeling like the captain of your own ship is harder. Indecisiveness is easy and safe but like many things in life that are easy and safe, it comes a long term cost. It's easy and 'safe' to not exercise or strain yourself but the unfortunate thing is that sometimes what we want isn't what we need. Be indifferent towards pleasure and energized towards discomfort.

What did I do badly?

Not on purpose, but woke up groggy. Why is that I wonder. Even with an adequate amount of sleep. Maybe it is how late I wake up these days. Wasn't able to concentrate on meditation. Still waking up and sleepy; and tight from bed.

What did I do well?

Was able clear out the To Do list. Was able to reduce transition time. Was able to focus for long periods on the task at hand, no pain sitting down. Pushed myself to do cardio, that really woke me up and energized the day.

What could I do differently?

More variety in the things I did. Could have went out for a walk or something. Days are getting repetitive.

More from Vibe Check
All posts