How I Practice for Number Sense

I try to always for one number sense test everyday early in the morning - just as a rise so that I get used to Number Sense being such an early competition.

Sometimes I just do all the problems with no timer, sometimes I do. I make sure to always do all the problems up to my goals, and to go back to mistakes and redo them. I also try to practice the same test over and over many times, per Larry White's advice. I also use practice tests that are at the level I'm aiming for, i.e. if one is aiming for state practice with state tests.

In the days leading up to a competition, I make sure to get enough sleep, review some flashcards, and relax.

This is generally more for those who are looking to build up skill after having the knowledge. For the latter, I recommend bryantheath.com/'s book.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Vincent Tran
All posts