Updates on my Life 4/7/22

I was planning to advertise for people to join AP Physics II next year, but today was the DECA vs HOSA social, and one of my friends got pied. However, this sparked some out of pocket jokes and now I feel like it's too late and badly timed to advertise it. Even still, I'm not sure I would get enough. I think I could orient it towards medical-oriented people, but I think "Physics II" is just a scary name. I hopefully have cemented plans for the purple comet math contest, but for a different contest that I had done last year (BL4S) there are only 9 days left and its seems like my old team don't really want to do it this year. I can't really blame them, most of them are seniors now and are probably busy or senioritising. I think I have a potential idea, but I don't really care all too much about physics anymore and we need a fairly large team to even enter. This Saturday is the virtual SAT testing. I wonder how I'll do seeing as I can use it as a real score anyways (this seems rather strange though: why test it out if you can vouch for its validity by allowing it to be used a a legit test?). I also question why they suddenly announced an extra $25 dollars. I am sure plenty of people already signed up for it, and announcing this in the middle seems like it would have no impact on signups.

I've been a little frustrated that I can't remember this idea I had for the Mu Alpha Theta meeeting tomorrow. I remember that I thought it a very good idea at the time. I think it was some sort of presentation. OH I remember it now. I wanted to show "proofs" that 0=1. Dang, well its too late now. I guess I can do it for the next meeting, but the next one might be a social. Besides, it also already has officer elections. I've been reflecting on my junior year teachers, and all of them seem so much more "down-to-Earth" than my freshmen year teachers. Its like the teachers reflect their kids more - the freshmen year teachers seemed much more hopeful about the ability of man whereas the junior year teachers aren't. I would predict that is simply an effect of a feedback loop from interacting with juniors vs interacting with freshmen. My calc teacher is especially crazy though. Like last week she told of my friends that she had her that week and was PMSing. Even if he was female, that would be weird. She also consistently talks of her dislike of teaching and desire to leave next year.

In Crime and Punishment, I'm now on Part 3 chapter 3. We haven't heard from Rodya for a while, and its interesting to see his actions from more of an outsider point of view and from one in which the characters are already familiar and recount Rodya's past. Also, what I predicted came to past, Rodya didn't confess. He instead seemed to have a moment of intense affection, as if rekindling his ability to love after ruminating on his crime. I think this builds the theme of nature vs. nurture/moral relativism I've been talking about. Rodya seems to not really love his family all that much (nature) but really begins and chooses (and I emphasize his choice) to love Marmeladov's family. This love is expressed through his desire for good and generous donation to his "choosen" family at the sacrifice of his natural family.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Vincent Tran
All posts