Update 5/4/22

Today's going to be another quick post as I want to make sure I am well-rested for the AP Stats test tomorrow. Today I did the US History STAAR test since it was originally planned for tomorrow, but had to be rescheduled to today since I have an AP test tomorrow. I ended up switching Mastodon hosts to the scholar.social; I thought the private server thing might've made the usage of one account less robust, but it turned out to integrate itself into the network very nicely. Recently I told my parents about the Atlas scholarship and how even if I get it, there is the possible negative of the summer camp. If I get in and decide to go, the plan might be to go to the camp for 10 days, then fly straight to Boston for our planned family vacation, then attend PROMYS. This means that I'll be out of state for most of my summer, which is a first for me. Normally we don't really travel much, even during the summer, so this would be an interesting experience. Of course, it assumes that I get the scholarship. It also assumes that I attend the camp. I think the camp would be interesting as I find the effective altruism movement very unprecedented in its quantitative approach to philosophy. I also have the NASA HAS Moonshot thing this summer and to learn how to drive.

I took the AP Psyc test yesterday. I thought it was kinda hard since I didn't know all the terms on the FRQ, might've overcomplicated one of my responses, and felt EXTREMELY sleepy during the MCQ. On Monday I took the AP Chem test, and I thought it was about expected. There were a few on the FRQ that really stumped me though. Also, a few days ago my mom asked me if I had a girlfriend, which was a bit of a strange interaction. My parents have been more inquisitive as to my social life recently: when I went to study chem with some friends my dad ask about whether there were any girls there, when I Zoom meet with some friends online my dad makes note of the girls there, my mom has brought up some classmate recognizing my name at work (she is a pedicurist), my mom asking about my friends' relationship (although just friends that she knows the family of), and the recently questions about girlfriends and crushes. I've articulated my plans of no family and no marriage when I grow up, so I hypothesize that they want me to try and experience romance to sway my opinion. I'm not sure that they would be that manipulative though. It's also possible they just like "drama" or news with my life.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Vincent Tran
All posts