Books

Seeing as I recently finished Crime and Punishment, I'm looking for my next book to read. I was planning on reading Don Quixote in Spanish to try and appreciate the nuance of another language and practice my Spanish, but I couldn't find a physical copy at my school's library, and I want to read it physically (for reduced eyestrain and the feel/formatting). I'm thinking of The Enchiridion by Epictetus, but it's quite short and has no physical copies at my school's library. I think Plato's Republic is available, so maybe I'll try checking that out. It is also pretty close to the end of the school year though, so I'm not sure they will even let me check it out. I don't really want to bother my parents to drive me just for a book that's free online, otherwise I would get the Communist Manifesto or The Wealth of Nations (or maybe something else; I found this bookshelf on Gutenberg recently [1] and I think they'll be interesting). I'm also considering the Bible. Even though I'm an atheist, I am pretty open-minded (not looking to be converted; I'm just intellectually open-minded) and am curious as to what it is about. I'm not even sure how it is written (is it a narrative? collection of stories? list of commandments?). It also is probably free as a physical copy at a local Christian church, which is nice, although I hate to be wasteful and just get the book, read it, then never use it again (libraries for the win!). If y'all have any recommendations, please leave an entry in my guestbook.

[1] https://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/bookshelf/57


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Vincent Tran
All posts