Update 5/24/22

I really hate to be making so many updates, but it's pretty late right now, so I'm just going to. Today I asked my psyc teacher if I could go to CS, and so I spent some time there playing some card games. My friends there went home early, so I just hung around and worked on some math. I didn't get much work done as I started playing some Minesweeper, Yahtzee, and Solitaire. Lunch was somewhat unusual in that the lunch people started handing normally paid stuff for free (at least I think) and gave out double servings at the same time for free. For the second final, I didn't have anything so I hung around with my calc teacher. We played some games, but then they went home. I found this site [1] which has 50000 triangle centers catalogued. That's crazy. We also talked about career paths, then my parents, then my friends. Next she asked me if I had a girlfriend 💀. Then we had a conversation about the purpose of dating and then about happiness. It was an interesting conversation. Since it was near the end of the year, she was wanting to give away her leftover stickers, so I got my sister to take some. It was her second time in the class (the first was some meet the teacher day thing), so she also looked at the drawings there (my calc teacher has giant windows as walls, so students drew stuff on them). I also went to the graduation of the class of '22 today, which was fun (and part of why I'm up so late). Yesterday I started watching Dr. Stone. I watched 4 episodes. TBH I quite dislike it. Senku uses science to justify non-scientific things, like philosophical values; says "think about it logically" when the issue isn't logical thinking (like when Taiju say smartphones as the most important tech; he wasn't being illogical, he just didn't know that much about history); conflates technology with science with rationality; and he also seems to just be connected to the internet in recalling facts. Taiju is also just hyper to the point of annoyance. The show also claims to try and be scientific, yet almost immediately introduces a character who has superhero levels of athleticism as a high schooler, and also knows random facts like molecule names.

[1] https://faculty.evansville.edu/ck6/encyclopedia/etc.html


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Vincent Tran
All posts