Update 6/17/22

It's been a decent while since my last update, I've been feeling a little tired of the time constraints of posting philosophy daily, and I've got a family vacation to Boston coming up (6/28), so I think I'm just going to post updates from here forward until day 100. I checked with a number of days between calculator, and it turns out I've missed a day in my counter. Today I went to select my new glasses' frame. We could've chosen it yesterday, but my dad didn't like my choice and wanted to delay it a day. So I wasted like 2 hours because of that silly decision. He called a couple of places and found none could really service us. Hence us going back there today. And he had the audacity to, today, say that we had to delay it because of the staff when it was just his decision. A couple of days ago, there was a new section in the ACC class choices for calc 3, a virtual option. I haven't told my parents yet because I'm waiting for the instructor. I'm doing this because the time is during school, but I'm hoping to email the instructor and ask them if they take attendance or don't record meetings. Hopefully they don't do both (double negative + De Morgan's law). The ACC scheduling stuff has been a bit of a stress for me, as my parents really, really don't want me to do it but I really, really want to. I've also been working on college stuff lately. A friend told me that I needed more targets in my list, so I've added a list of some possible candidates (and some reach candidates) for me to look further into. I didn't realize how good some LACs were. Unfortunately they won't really be a very good option for me considering how many college math classes I'll (hopefully) have done by then. I've also been looking at UChicago more, and I am probably gonna ED there. I've also been reviewing my ecs/honors for the common app, and I realized how different they were from what I loosely planned in freshman year. I had envisioned a more focused and honors heavy app, but idt I'm gonna put 5 honors on it. Some other things I've been doing are stopping IYRI (this wasn't that interesting and took up time, but was notable as I probably should practice saying no more) and trying again at some conjectures/theorems I've been trying to prove (I've been emailing a researcher with ideas and for feedback, and he responded recently). It's kinda crazy how I'm almost at 50,000 words and am so close to 100 days. My original goal at the beginning was 50,000 words across the entire 100 days, at an average of 500 words per post. After the 100 days, I'll probably do weekly updates on Mastodon, and focus on making higher-quality, more evidence based, and more personally important posts here.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Vincent Tran
All posts