My Speech

Here's a text copy of my speech (and a video is here: https://www.youtube.com/@hebcenteratcedarpark)

As raiders, we’re no strangers to love: the love for our community, friends, and family. But you know the rules and so do I: you can’t put the community too far above yourself. This balance between serving the community and serving yourself is important to keep in mind as y’all move forward into your careers. Sure, the CEO of Exxon may make a lot of money for themself, but is it really worth it?

Now I wanna give y’all a message you wouldn’t get from any other guy.
First, it is important to keep an open mind. Technology and innovation can create jobs that can’t be imagined of today. You never know what could come from a generation of Chat-GPTers. So you don’t need to be fully committed to some dream or career you put on your college apps or tell people. Some might even say a full commitment isn’t what I’m thinking of.

Not just that, but an open mind with empathy is vital as well. The world is so complex—it’s impossible to know someone’s whole background, so err on the side of kindness. There really are few truly bad, truly evil, truly villainous characters that are out to get you. Life isn’t a Disney movie: there are few completely evil people. Most people are honestly just trying their best, there’s simply different views of what that is.

Second, I just want to tell you how I’m feeling, gotta really make you understand. Standing here, looking at all of y’all I find it insane that there’s like 600 of y’all, each with complex lives, complex desires, complex fears. But my biggest regret probably was not doing more in high school. I wish I took more risks, overcame my fears, spent more time pursuing my passion of math instead of doing what’s passive, which was school for me. If you have some cool idea you’ve always wanted to explore, just do it. hopefully Nike doesn’t come after me for that

So be bold: take action. Don’t let anyone hold you back, whether it be institutions, parents, society—be authentic in how you act, how you live. It’s your life. You are the only you in the world, so show them your unique perspective. Maybe you wouldn’t expect this from a math major, but creativity is one of my top values. But creativity demands risk, demands breaking convention, breaking tradition, and most of all demands uniqueness.

TLDR (though ig it isn’t really reading for you guys) be flexible, be empathetic, and do something.
Finally, I’d like to thank my family for being so supportive of my pursuits over the years: without them I’d be in a very different position. Even though we can disagree, my mom has always cared for me and my dad and sister have been people I can depend on and rely upon. I’d also like to thank my grandma, though she sadly passed away last year, and my relatives for being willing to go so far to see me. Lastly, a special thanks to my peers and teachers for the incredible community they’ve created: I never want to give y’all up.
I wish all of y’all the best of luck in your endeavors and may your future never let you down.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Vincent Tran
All posts