Veteran's Day 2022

So today in the United States, November 11th is Veteran's Day. I had started writing some detailed posts about my feelings on this day and just didn't have it in me to actually do it.

I am proud of my service but have questions on what it really means when freedom is under threat. That people can't separate someone's politics from their service. That is really one of the things that bothers me the most.

We can disagree politically but whether someone put their life on the line to defend this country isn't determined based on their current political beliefs. If you want to appreciate veterans, you can appreciate someone's service even if you disagree with them.

The other thing is for people to stop using veterans as pawns in political fights. Don't try to speak for veterans. Even when a veteran speaks, we speak for ourselves. There is no one veteran. Just like everything else in America it is a mix of people and opinions.

I guess what I really hope for this Veteran's Day is if we could all just be a little more tolerant of each other.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Rob Williger
All posts