taking meaningful breaks

At PROMYS we had a People at Promys seminar about taking breaks. In order to not burn out, it's important to take breaks, but not too many or else you'll get no work done.
Here are some ideas:

The best ones:

  1. Some sort of light physical activity for 20~ min, like throwing a frisbee/football, stretching/yoga. It takes your mind off your obligations and gives you endorphins.
  2. Blog!!! I'm now an avid blogger because I can record down all my thoughts and keep them all in one place, then reflect back on them in the future. It's a nice way to untangle the messy ball of yarn in my head and sort out thoughts on paper. Especially because in the past I've had unhealthy thought patterns, it's nice to record them down on paper, so that I can recognize their harm
  3. Grab a snack or drink and just walk around for a little bit
  4. Work on an art piece and listen to music

Medium ones:

  1. Checking messaging social media apps like iMessages or Discord to have a conversation with friends, but only for like 10 min. I can get really distracted by my friends--well, only one of them--and we can have 40-min-long conversations over text. They are helpful but I'd prefer not to stay on that app for that long.

The worst ones:

  1. Mindlessly watching entertainment, like YouTube videos or scrolling through Instagram reels

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from wintermelon
All posts