🦖 A man named Tyrannosaurus Rex, and why interesting things happen to me.

I once met a guy named Tyrannosaurus Rex.
To be precise, I testified against a fellow named Tyrannosaurus Rex. He had trouble with boundaries and I was helping a co-worker get a restraining order. He defended himself, testifying like a trial lawyer, and was arrested and processed halfway through the hearing.
It's a story that sounds too strange to be true, and I love sharing the experience. Once I told the story of my run-in with T-Rex with a relation of mine, and he shook his head and wondered aloud why interesting things didn't happen to him.
This got me wondering: why do interesting things happen to me?
My final answer turns out to be: intense boredom.

  1. Boredom makes me become friends with everyone.
    I'm an extrovert, and I get bored easily. I ask lots of questions, try to understand people, give them unsolicited advice. People are always, always fascinating, if you dig deep enough. I was good friends with the lady who was seeking the restraining order, so she asked me to testify instead of another co-worker.

  2. Boredom gives me the gift of noticing.
    When I'm bored, I start noticing everything. This is not so good when I'm driving, but it helps me see the world in a higher resolution than other people, because I'm constantly looking for something, anything to engage my mind. I had long been watching (and wondering at) T-Rex's behavior, so I had a testimony when the time came.

  3. Boredom encourages me to be impulsive.
    Boredom is miserable. Painful. I hate it, so I'll tend to grab at whatever promises to alleviate the pain. This isn't a tendency that I should indulge, but when it comes to seizing opportunities that pass bye quickly, I tend to seize first and ask questions later. My default answer is "Yes, sounds fun!". This does get me in trouble from time to time, but it usually makes things interesting.

So, that's my best answer right now. I get bored, and seek out interesting things. The price I pay for the art I create, the situations I get into, and the work that I do is painful boredom for 85% of my waking hours.

Worth it?


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Andrew Miller
All posts