[26] Think and Grow Rich Chp 15

Napoleon Hill

https://youtu.be/nR2SuK_kglQ

Chapter 15: How to Outwit the Six Ghosts of Fear

  • Before I can put any portion of this philosophy into successful use, my mind must be prepared to receive it. The preparation is not difficult. It begins with study, analysis, and understanding of three enemies which I shall have to clear out. These are Indecision, Doubt, and Fear!
  • The Sixth Sense will never function while these three negatives, or any of them remain in my mind. The members of this unholy trio are closely related; where one is found, the other two are close at hand
  • Indecision is the seedling of Fear! Remember this, as I read. Indecision crystalizes into Doubt, the two blend and become Fear!
  • The Six Basic Fears:
    1. Poverty
    2. Criticism
    3. Ill Health
    4. Loss of love or someone
    5. Old Age
    6. Death
  • Fears are nothing more than states of mind. One's state of mind is subject to control and direction
  • Man can create nothing which he does not first conceive in the form of an impulse of thought. Following this statement, comes another of still greater importance, namely, man's thought impulses begin immediately to translate themselves into their physical equivalent, whether those thoughts are voluntary or involuntary
  • The Devil's Workshop
    • In addition to the Six Basic Fears, there is another evil by which people suffer. It constitutes a rich soil in which the seeds of failure grow abundantly. It is so subtle that its presence often is not detected. This affliction cannot properly be classed as a fear. It is more deeply seated and more often fatal than all of the six fears. For want of a better name, let us call this evil susceptibility to negative influences
    • Men who accumulate great riches always protect themselves against this evil! I take inventory of my life to see where I'm being negatively influenced
  • To protect myself against negative influences:
    • Whether of my own making or the result of the activities of negative people around me, I recognize that I have a Will-Power, and put it into constant use, until it builds a wall of immunity against negative influences in my own mind
    • I recognize the fact that I, and every other human being, are, by nature, lazy, indifferent, and susceptible to all suggestions which harmonize with my weaknesses
    • I recognize that I am, by nature, susceptible to all the six basic fears, and set up habits for the purpose of counteracting all these fears
    • I recognize that negative influences often work on me through my subconscious mind, therefore they are difficult to detect, and keep my mind closed against all people who depress or discourage me in any way
    • Deliberately seek the company of people who influence me to think and act for myself
  • Without doubt, the most common weakness of all human beings is the habit of leaving their minds open to the negative influence of other people
  • I have Absolute Control over but one thing, and that is my thoughts. This is the most significant and inspiring of all facts known to man! It reflects man's Divine nature. This Divine prerogative is the sole means by which I may control my own destiny. If I fail to control my own mind, I may be sure I will control nothing else
  • Mind control is the result of self-discipline and habit. I either control my mind or it controls me. There is no hall-way compromise. The most practical of all methods for controlling the mind is the habit of keeping it busy with a definite purpose, backed by a definite plan

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Andrew Bouras
All posts