[88] Self-Image

Neville Goddard, Maxwell Maltz, David Hawkins

When I align with my higher self-image, I experience reality in a more harmonious way. I have more joyous, collaborative relationships with other people, environments, and circumstances. I bring forth my vision, create my dream

Neville Goddard

  • The whole vast world is myself pushed out. All that I behold though appears without, it is within, in my own wonderful human imagination of which this world of mortality is but a shadow
  • As I'm told, "unless I am born again I cannot enter the kingdom of Heaven" even though the kingdom of Heaven is within me
    • The kingdom of God is within me and God is in his kingdom
    • Although he is in his kingdom and that kingdom is in me, I cannot enter it
    • Unless, I turn from this world of materiality believing it is the cause, believing it is the reality to live in my own wonderful human imagination
  • When I do I will find myself on the very verge of being reborn
    • So I warned, do not ask me when. I will tell you, not even the son knows. Only the Father
    • But I'll give you the symptoms of it, when I can trust my own wonderful human imagination, that will be the symptom
  • That I could turn myself from this world of seeing reality on the outside to a world of imagination. So I actually live in my own wonderful human imagination
    • If I do and I'm really put into a being who believes in the reality of his own imaginal acts, I am then on the verge of rebirth
  • I can tell from the uprising of moods within me that I'm going to meet certain people and I do
  • The mood, I can suppress the mood. As Churchill said, "the moods determined the fortunes of people rather than the fortune's determine the mood"
    • Don't ignore that great man. He said that the mood actually determines the fortunes. So I catch a mood or then catch the mood of my wish fulfilled
    • What would the feeling be like if it were true? Imagine the wish fulfilled. What would it be like? How would I feel if it were true?
    • In spite of all things round about to deny it. I walk as though it were true and in a way that I do not
  • So everyone in my world is myself pushed out
    • Blame no one. Don't even blame myself. Just change my diet
    • They only reflect what I have been doing and maybe still doing
    • When I see it I change my diet. And the diet is simply words, all within me
    • So I assume that I am now the man or woman that I want to be. Walk in that assumption as though it were true. Living it just as though it is true
  • There is only one creative power in the world. The one who kills is the one who makes alive. The one who wounds is the one who heals and there is no other power than this one power and that one power is my own wonderful human imagination. That is God. There is no other God. He is buried in me and the day will come when he will awaken within me

Maxwell Maltz

  • Conduct an accurate inventory and analysis of the contents of my self-image
    • I act, and feel, not according to what things are really like, but according to the image my mind holds of what they are like. I have certain mental images of myself, my world, and the people around me, and I behave as though these images were the truth, the reality, rather than the things they represent
    • The aim of self-image psychology is not to create a fictitious self which is all-powerful, arrogant, egoistic, all-important. Such an image is as inappropriate and unrealistic as the inferior image of self. My aim is to find the "real self," and to bring my mental images of myself more in line with "the objects they represent."
  • Exercise
    • Set aside a period of 30 minutes each day where I can be alone and undisturbed. Relax and make myself as comfortable as possible. Now, close my eyes and exercise my imagination
    • See myself acting and reacting appropriately, successfully, ideally. It doesn't matter how I acted yesterday. I do not need to try to have faith I will act in the ideal way tomorrow. My nervous system will take care of that in time, if I continue to practice
    • Make these pictures as vivid and as detailed as possible
    • The way to do this is pay attention to small details, sights, sounds, objects, in my imagined environment
    • This exercise builds new "memories" or stored data into my mid-brain and central nervous system. It builds a new image of self. After practicing it for a time, I will be surprised to find myself "acting differently," more or less automatically and spontaneously without trying

David Hawkins

  • Difference between Power vs Force
    • Power appeals to what uplifts, dignifies, and enables. Force must always be justified, whereas power requires no justification. Force is associated with the partial, power with the whole
    • Force always moves against something, whereas power doesn't move against anything at all
    • Force is incomplete and therefore has to be fed energy constantly. Power is total and complete in itself and requires nothing form outside. It makes no demands; it has no needs
    • Because force has an insatiable appetite, it constantly consumes. Power, in contrast, energizes, gives forth, supplies, and supports
    • I notice that power is associated with compassion and makes me feel positively about myself. Force is associated with judgement and makes me feel poorly about myself
    • Force always creates counterforce; its effect is to polarize

Key Realizations

  • As I believe, so it shall be done unto you
  • Reaction to the outer world reveals identity
  • Self-image can be evolved physically, emotionally, and mentally
  • The spiritual self-image transcends physical, emotional, and mental identity
  • I Am is the understanding of beyond self-image and what I identify with
  • Self-image is evolved through evolving beliefs
  • True self-image is revealed through the journey and hints of spirit of harmony and service
  • When in doubt, "Identify up"

https://youtu.be/y0lw_JDaYQo


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Andrew Bouras
All posts