Tea Entry #1: Lotus Leaf Tea

Today I made Lotus Leaf Tea!

I used loose-leaf lotus leaves to make my brew. I put 3 tablespoons of lotus leaves into my tea infuser. I boiled the water to 85 degrees Celsius and let the water and leaves simmer for 5 minutes. The result? A majestic hue of emerald green—the exact color I was looking for!

While I wanted to start my tea journey with 'true tea,' or tea stemming from Camellia sinensis first, lotus leaves were readily available while I couldn't get my hands on the Camellia sinensis plant. Yet.

However, after drinking the tea, it was refreshing and somewhat bitter. I felt that with a slight sweetness, it could be the perfect concoction. I thought two drops of vanilla extract would do the trick.

It was perfect (to myself at least). The tea had a slightly sweet aftertaste that didn't overpower the slight bitterness of the leaf but added a sweet touch at the end. It was something I hadn't had before! I recommend trying the tea with a little vanilla. It was so good. SO GOOD.

Having drunk my brew, I wanted to do a little digging on the tea. I find it fascinating that all kinds of tea have various benefits for us. I wanted to look at the history of tea and its benefits.

According to Teatox Australia, the lotus leaf has been a prized ingredient in many different ancient civilizations, ranging from the Egyptians to the Chinese. It is a prevalent symbol of peace and beauty even to this day. Many ancient civilizations acclaimed the lotus leaf for its health benefits.

Modern research on the plant identified various benefits:

  • Retaining skin moisture
  • Reducing muscle spasms
  • Spleen and liver detoxification
  • And many more!

If you want to read the article yourself, this is where I got the information:
Teatox Australia: Lotus Leaf History and Benefits
https://www.teatoxaustralia.com/blogs/ingredients/39837825-lotus-leaf-history-and-benefits

Isn't it fantastic that a plant used years ago for medicine is still being used today? Perhaps many of the largest questions in health and biology may be found in nature. In a growing world of human innovation and technology, I believe that it is still imperative that we do not treat nature as obsolete but continue to learn from it.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Ayden
All posts