Tea Entry #2: Chamomile Tea/Manzanilla con Miel

Today I made Chamomile Tea!

I used loose-leaf chamomile flowers to make my brew. I put 3 tablespoons of chamomile flowers into my tea infuser. I boiled the water to 85 degrees Celsius and let the water and flowers simmer for 5 minutes. The result? A gorgeous hue of gold—the exact color I was looking for!

Additionally, there is a perfect ingredient to put in chamomile tea: "hunny." Our favorite yellow bear's favorite snack in the world. In Spain, chamomile tea is enjoyed by adding a spoon of honey. This is called "Manzanilla con Miel."

Manzanilla con miel is not just a delicious drink. From the Egyptians who used it as a cure for fevers to being the "Saint of the Broom," Martín de Porres' favorite plant, chamomile flowers have been used throughout various eras of human history and civilizations. We even use the plant today. Chamomile is used in skincare and to minimize gray hair. Its benefits don't stop there. Other medicinal properties include:

  • Healing sores and burns
  • Treating skin irritations
  • Regulating menstruation for women
  • And more!

If you want to read the article yourself, this is where I got the information:
https://www.ecoherbes.com/es/historia-de-la-manzanilla/

Today was a rainy summer day. The skies were overcast. The heavy rain slowly turned into a drizzle, leaving behind a fresh scent of rain. Drinking manzanilla con miel on a rainy day is something truly extraordinary. Perhaps it was the scent of rain. Perhaps it was the tea. Perhaps it was both the scent of fresh rain and the floral taste of the chamomile tea that truly made this moment in time special. The hot and aromatic tea, with a touch of honey, calms my mind from studying for the SAT, academic studies, and other responsibilities. Brewing tea gives me time to simply enjoy my surroundings, using both my ears and mouth to feel the world around me. I love it. The more I brew tea, the more I learn how calming the process is. It is therapeutic in a way.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Ayden
All posts