AD21//Day 14 out of 25

A fanfare for little comforts.

:۩:••:۩:••:۩:••:۩:••:۩:

< Kxos >

Familiar, forceful
Freeing
Fast, stacking
Confusing.

Ended, not wanting to start again
Sofa, throw pillows, body weight
Moving air, a forewarning of a future storm
Daylight, glow-in-the-dark starlings

Ambulances, medic cars, corrupt professors
Violet tablecloth, cut wiring, broken fuse
Stuffed toys, polka dots, asthma attacks
Mahogany, termites, maggots in rice

Rush hour, wasp queen, desktop cat
Blushing, eyeliner, vanity mirror cracked
Black tail, meowing with intervals like opuses blank
Four thirty-three seconds of silence, and bow out

therefore it did not forget itself enough, therefore it still values something enough as a purpose
but without something like a king to follow, its path becomes the desire to become one for itself
some who heard the voices of sirens and survived would have liked to replicate and show their songs to the world
learn how to cut off their legs and become a siren themselves to create one

yellow curtains, raisin chips
dim carcosa, living lips
limited vision, sea creatures
grayish-green inside a grayish-pink

frontal systems underwater
hiding in seclusion
gaining guidance, enlightenment beloved

without knowing what is the procedure
arms exposed to be injected with poison
go get the antidote, no clues
while learning how to read and to stave hunger
stealing medicine from the successful
evening comes with the realization
these drugs are either impermanent or painful
or past the expiry date

someone once, in the clearest whitest robes
took me to this place before
someone once whispered night incantations
and told stories before

someone once, who said these words
whose meanings I never knew nor tried to search for,
falsely said she would take the pain away
but left and locked the door

:۩:••:۩:••:۩:••:۩:••:۩:

< Infinous >

the stars trickled in the gates until they learned how to fall on their own
yelling out their made-up names, the astronauts held their palms for them to land on
with an impact that could break apart the world, they diminished to floating flows
bubbles of fire, landing on gloves, flickering before collapsing in time

waving now, goodbye to a stranger with a comfortable smile
walking feet, unknown to locomotion, I crawled out on all fours
with a different sense of touch
something felt different than a boiling star

once there was consciousness and the fluctuation of lights
flickering between death and a dream
I was emerging at the end of an infinite desire
materializing from within

trapped in ice, and frozen in a pot
comatose induced by a bankrupt aftermath
after all this progress, will you still let the law hold you back?
bring me into life, bring me the future I never had

with newfound whiskers, texture forms in the glass I was caged in
blind to the night but not the artwork of the smooth, rough, and gaps between
I felt warmth in a softness that thawed me out of the freezing landscape
firmly yet tenderly pressed against safety

contrasts called colors formed in the dryness of light-filled spaces
waking to noises, the ringings without a name
for a desire left unfinished and may be lost in an instant
I was born for the purpose of whether I can actually exist, and here I am

:۩:••:۩:••:۩:••:۩:••:۩:

< Dismorta >

dashed line boundaries, crossed without a promise
to be hunted down, running from the picture frames
when the lines are crossed, and the decades come and go,
the more likely you may cross back without wanting to

this stays a secret between us, for no one else to know
I hid a treasure and I tore its map in two
if you remember its value when the chest has festered brown
I will give you the paper, or ashes, of the other half

I still remember the murmurs of the wind I once thought was a poltergeist
I still know the names of the people in my dreams
I still remember the autumns and where there once were leaves from cut-down trees
And how the you that don't remember said you'll keep the memories
I still remember the roses that never bloomed in our flooded middle schools
I still know every illusion, every magic trick you used
I still play the games, abandonwares now free since the stores have closed
Now they are all I remember, the present I'm living through

our lives are our eternities
eras burning bright only to disappear
shaped by what we found pretty, ever kind to the transient
maybe we will grow up, shrinking the distance we'll reach
I vow to love what we know the world forgot but we can keep

forever

yes, I remember what is hidden in that box of mold
though I do not remember its worth to us back then
yes, I know what to say so you would give me the map
but I don't want to find it

I remember the face of a poster
I remember despite the difficulty of distinguishing sight
I want to place my faith in a legacy that will vanish if I close my eyes
I want to remember when nobody does
Where sanctuaries can be found, even if I it's beyond my touch


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from 86
All posts