AD21//Day 15 out of 25

It says freedom day for two days. What does freedom day mean? I can skip it. I sure will.

Dear Aksum,

Two days left. One day, actually. Nothing ventured nothing gained. Due to this lack of motivation, I am once again expecting something to wake me up to the reality (not the painful one there's so much pain in the world already) that if you just force yourself you can make an output.

Ah, let's see...

"An Unhealthy Dose of Cyanide" -- how much dose of cyanide is unhealthy? What even is this book?
puts down book Let me just search it up a bit.
1.5 mg/kg body weight. Some also say 1-3 mg/kg body weight. Said wikipedia. So how about a total of 1 mg only, no body weight coefficient? Inject it into the bloodstream, let's see if that's still fatal or just unhealthy.

As of now, the book has three units, chapters all called under the name "Indoctrination". Every indoctrination starts with some confusing note, while the third indoctrination starts with some random quote by Franz Kafka. We'll get there, we'll get there.
After the indoctrination intro, there will be about 5-7 pieces each, separated by a page break, progressively decreasing per chapter. At the end of the chapter is something akin to a long story, not in prose form. This long story has an actual title, unlike everything else, and has a "vocal", as well as a character name implying that this is the person who has experienced, felt, and narrated the long story.

Well, uh, what else do I say... I haven't finished it yet so any way to another plane of existence we go.

Hup. *drags a heavy but thin book out of his grandparents' ashes. *
This one is called... There is not title. That, or the title was buried alongside my family. It is a straightforward 4pov story, continuous, about the hero saving princess trope. This must have been popular back then or something, else why would this be here?

Something about a princess, her half-brother she fell in love with who is also coincidentally a prince, the hero who has been pining for her and asked for her as a reward, and the demon lord who is childhood friends with probably that other prince. I don't quite remember how it goes, but I do remember how its covers are as heavy as lead. Someone who wasn't aware of the usual cliches or plot devices cried when he reached the end of this book. That motherfucker is me. Unfortunately, once I saw this kind of plot repeat over and over in telenovelas or made fun of in adult cartoons, I stopped liking it. Unfortunately.
throws away the book into oblivion I'll reread it later.

Searching...searching...
Ah, this one. This one, my grandparents stole from some rando that gave away their books. Thing is, unlike the modern world, english isn't a second language that children are required to learn in their time. This one is about a guy who was kidnapped by the girl he liked and slowly learns to fall in love with the one who wanted to help set him free. It's a slow burn full of flashbacks, one of those that justify the kidnapping by the end and destroying everything we once assumed the world was. Oh no, we should've liked having stockholm syndrome. Oh no, we shouldn't have trusted anyone like a paranoid maniac. It felt humiliating for me back then, to like a story that I found out was so heavily criticized on the web.

And then, wait a second... ah fuck, not this thing again. Aperifa Losduceuly, even I remember Aperifa Losduceuly. I'm not sure if I'm spelling or pronouncing it right. It's a fever dream about the personification of two ideologies? It's been so long...there's the white rose (female) and red rose (male, the only one with a name: Krasny). Those two kill each other non-violently, or something like that, or maybe it's their followers that do so. Something about the white rose gaining dominance, and then they open up a manhole leading to the end of the world, and then it turns out that Krasny was the one convincing everyone to ally with the white rose, ending with Krasny successfully killing the white rose (which may or may not be by pushing her down that manhole). Gah, it was a ride. It was a confusing one. I guess, happy ending? Fun little bitch. I looked up how the net perceived it, and most of them were laughing at it. They are more concerned about how the characters have child-like bodies and the political symbolism rather than the crack dream that is the garden scene. That scene is the first one that made me feel that humanity really is done for, without showing or describing anything related to evil, be it violence, greed, or anything mature content of sorts. It's just...weird in a nauseating way.

I'll probably do this again.

Sincerely,
Sailph


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from 86
All posts