descriptive writing desert

I hear the sound of the rubber rolling on the rough desert terrain. The flaming red sand and desert-scape are the only thing I can see out of my windows for miles. The only thing I can see beyond the rolling desert is the peaks of low mountains, or at least they look low since they're miles away. I fly past a desert shrub, with it's sharp and protruding leaves and edges, which look like they could slice you open like razors. As I hear the hundreds of small stones and debris hit the paint of the car as I soar over the sandy desert floor, the only thing that occupies my mind is the how the arid, lifeless desert is beautifully contrasted by the deep blue sky, with it's rolling clouds, which almost looks alive, as though it were an ocean teeming with life, a delicate ecosystem that could be thrown off with one small mistake, unlike the desert with it's jarring, unforgiving nature. My foot is pinned hard on the gas as I kick up debris and sand with my wheels. It's strange to think how an environment with nearly no life can be so freeing and at the same time, so completely and utterly depressing. The dramatic red hue of light emitted by a burning orange sun just over the horizon shines harshly on the desert. The last few hours of sunlight before the grey skies take over and turn this hellish looking landscape into pure darkness.

positive:
I liked how I moved the "I" through the subject since the subject was motionless and without action.

Negative:
I could have used more senses, other than sound and sight.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from ChrisAIS
All posts