Day 1

It is nighttime and I probably should go to sleep. But I read about the 100 Day Writing Challenge and I thought, I should start right away. If you want to start something it makes sense to not postbone it, but to dive right into it.

So here I am, writing these lines and trying to let the words flow without interruption. Outside I can hear the people laughing again. It has been a long time quietly outside. The restaurant across the street was closed during the shutdown and no one was sitting outside. I don´t know if I really missed the loud people, but I definetly missed being able sitting in a restaurant!

I mean it's weird to being able to sit outside again, and even inside. But I think it's necessary for people to connect again and to get back their freedom. It looks normal, but it will be some time until it really will be normal again. The question is what normal means. You can't make the last years experiences just disappear and forget them.

We still came through this pandemic pretty well in comparison to other people or other countries. Even the fact, that we can see light at the end of the tunnel is very privileged. We can think about getting back to normal again, while there is no end to see in other countries. Why is there this big difference and why do I have to act like everything is fine and we can get back to business as usual.

Do we really want to get back to business as usual? My priorities definitely have shifted. Part of it definitely due to the pandemic and part of it because of the anyways life changing fact of now being a dad for more than two years.

I am different than I was beforehand and that's a good thing. Things change anyways and there is no way or reason in trying to stop that. I will be different tomorrow and maybe I will be able to complete the 100 Day challenge and will be different after that again.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Christoph
All posts