How to save bookmarks

I am still searching and haven't found the perfect solution yet. What is the best way to save interesting websites, articles and other pieces of information from internet for later reference. Well, not always for reference but also for the sake of knowing that it is saved somewhere, even if I will never have the time to read it again.

The first and fastest way is to use the browsers own bookmark feature. Every browser has it as a fundamental functionality. It has always been surprising for me, how boring and featureless this system is implemented. At least as far as I can judge it.

I use Firefox as my browser and a few versions ago it featured the service called pocket . It is not really a bookmark system, it is more a way to store any kind of article you want to read. I got more and more involved with also sharing your saved articles and get new suggestions. Somehow this slowly got a little too much for me, that´s why I was looking for an offline option.

I then found a tool called Memex. It used to be only integrated within your browser and also kept all data only stored locally on your device. There were some fundamental syncing features, they didn´t really work perfectly. It recently also jumped onto the cloud train and got a main update. It now integrates AI features and wants to connect your work with a big community. They still claim to be a privacy oriented service and they say, they will never share data for advertisement or third parties. I am sceptical.

Raindrop has the benefit of also being a pure bookmark tool. It can also save articles and you can highlight and comment them, but I really like the fact that I can collect all kinds of webpages and tag them and organize them. It also syncs in the cloud, so you have to trust the developer. The main downside for me is, that the tool seems to be a one man show. It´s not a team of developers, it´s one person. So I don´t know what happens, if this person doesn´t want to continue or suddenly makes some poor decisons concerning the future features.

As you can see, it´s tricky and I will keep on searching. But I also like trying new tools, so I don´t mind!


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Christoph
All posts