Syncing with Syncthing

I think I finally found a good solution for my Tiddlywiki syncing problem. If you want to know what Tiddlywiki is, I have to refer you to here for now. I don't want to focus on this amazing tool just right now. Maybe another time. Definitely another time!

Right now I want to focus on Syncthing.

The problem

I need to have my Tiddlywiki Documentation available on all devices. Laptop, Desktop Computer and mobile phone. The first two ones didn't really challenge me, I just synced them via Nextcloud. Another fine piece of software, also for another time! It works like Dropbox, OneDrive, Googledrive etc, syncing specific folders on your computers via a cloud server.

It works perfectly on Laptop and Computer, as the syncing app always gets the newest file version as soon as I open it, with whatever software I want. But what works fine there, doesn't easily apply to my mobile devices. Especially when it comes to Tiddlywiki. I need a special app to open and edit this file, but the file itself only gets updated when I open it with my nextcloud app.

What I need is a solution, which always runs in the background and fetches, either in real time or after a specific period of time, any changes automatically and also propagates every change. I used FolderSync for a while, but periodically ran into syncing conflicts I couldn't really figure out what the reason was.

The solution

Then along came syncthing Syncthing and after a short trial period I think it works very well. It basically does, what FolderSync does, but in real time. So any change will immediatelly be sent to all other linked devices. It is available for windows, linux and android. So it fits perfectly into my infrastructure.

I will keep on trying and let you know, if I will run in any trouble that takes me out cloud 9.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Christoph
All posts