#6 The connection between gaze and centering

About a month ago I began a 30-day Yoga with Adriene challenge around the theme of "Center".

With all my moving around, I knew that there would be some days I couldn't find my way to the mat - especially if I was staying with friends - but I would keep going until I reached day 30.

I've just completed Day 18 and enjoyed the way she explored Gaze or Drishti. Before today, I had only ever considered finding a "point of focus" when I was struggling to find balance in a balancing posture. Today however we played with it right from the start.

I found it striking how challenging it was to settle in on one spot without feeling the distraction of moving my eyes away, or to blink a lot. With so much going on in the world around me I'm used to having my attention pulled in many different directions at once.

Yet the practice of learning to focus gently can do much for connecting to my core, my centre, and allowing me to find balance again.

It's an idea I'll come back to.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Cleo
All posts