A love story

One day we met each other.
I was energetic and full of hope,
but a bit insecure, slightly diffidence.
You were witty and seemed confident,
but emotionally unavailable and a bit narcissistic.

We got entangled.
We were happy.
I was happy.
A dream came true.
But I quickly wake up.

You broke my heart.
I dissolved into a fit of tears.
Soft pillows comforted me.
You wanted to be friends, but ghosted me.
I loved you and fought for you.

We became friends, not real friends.
I always fear rejection. I felt it in my skin.
You were always taking distance. Afraid of my love.
Still, we found each other.
Over and over again.

I was happy.
Also unhappy.
I was hopeful.
Also exhausted.
Where were we going?

You met someone,
I was left behind.
You thought nothing would change.
Of course, it would.
You broke me twice.

I took some distance.
So difficult it was.
We were so close.
I missed you.
Let's talk it through, we agree upon.

You changed your mind.
No need for talks.
My crying voice filled the room.
No hope, no energy.
I backed off.

It hurt to let you go.
To lose a friend.
To forget the good moments.
To remember the bad ones.
To accept that love is blind.

I wanted to work together,
to create a better version of ourselves.
to be the best friends.
I hope I put a grain of sand.
You broke me down.

Now we are not friends.
I wanted to keep an open door,
you did not.
End of the story.
There is no more to be done.

I loved you.
You broke me.
I learnt my lesson.
Thanks you.
I love me more.

More from DancingWithWords
All posts