Dorm stuff

The university I'm going to has single dorm rooms with a semi private bathroom. So basically you're room is completely separate (no roommates!)and you have an attached bathroom that 1 other person (who also has a single room on the other side) has access to. But the bathroom doors lock and are exactly like the front door, so you don't have to worry about you're bathroom mate having access to your room.

These "premium singles" are a lot more expensive than the more traditional room mate and communal washroom set ups, but honestly so worth it. They also have double beds instead of a twin, and have an amazing view of the water.

Thing is, residence rooms are assigned on a first-come first-serve basis. Since I got early admission and the uni is fairly small, I think I have a good shot at getting the singles if I sign up as soon an possible. I'll definitely update. If I don't get into the premium singles they do have other single rooms, but they have c o m m u n a l p u b l i c w a s h r o o m s D: and they are much farther away from the science buildings, where most of my classes would be.
I am crossing my fingers, toes, legs, arms - everything - to get into those rooms.

Being the anxious perfectionist that I am, I have already started compiling a list of things I need for move in day:

For Uni:

  • Trash can
  • Laundry basket
  • Comforter, pillows and sheets
  • Clothing hangers
  • Desk lamp
  • Towels
  • Shower tote
  • Dishes + utensils
  • Blankets
  • Winter coat/winter stuff
  • Scissors
  • Cough/cold/flu medicine
  • Extension cords
  • Shampoo and Conditioner
  • Dry shampoo
  • Nail stuff
  • Face wash
  • Kleenex/paper towels
  • Trash bags
  • Lysol wipes/cleaning supplies
  • Umbrella
  • Mirror
  • Laundry detergent
  • Rug
  • Keurig
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Chargers
  • Brita filter
  • Heated blanket

My dad's friend has a daughter who recently dropped out of uni, and they generously gave me the mini fridge she bought. I am going to paint it yellow!


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Eulalie
All posts