Seven: Adapting

Planted: Friday 5/17/2019
Last Tended: Friday 5/17/2019

I got the quote back from the graphic designer/illustrator and the fee is out of my budget. I really liked her work and wanted to work with her, but it doesn't make sense for me to spend a lot of money on something that an agent or publisher might have me change once I get signed.

I was disappointed when I saw the quote. The cost for one image was my budget for typeface, illustration, and layout. But after thinking about it, I realized that it's not the end of the world, I just need to adapt. Maybe I will use that graphic designer when I get my advance or maybe on another project. It's okay.

My next option: I continue making the graphics myself. It's going to take me longer because I am not that skilled at using digital tools for art. I usually do my art by hand. I also am not that great of a illustrator. It's a win for me if I can get the book looking at least 85% to my liking before I send it out to agents. I can be a bit of a perfectionist, I don't want to obsess over how the book looks (not yet). I didn't want to get sucked into drawing and illustrating because I figured it would take away from the writing.

I decided to adjust my goal. My goal was to write the entire book in the 100 days, but I am going to shift it to having the writing, typeface, illustrations, layout, and beta reading done for the first two parts of the book. I think that's doable for me. I can play around on Adobe and make my images. If I ended up finishing early, I will move on to the other two parts of the book.

Adapting is important and maybe it was meant to be that I work on the illustrations myself.

Goals for tomorrow

  1. Creative write for 30 minutes
  2. Find quotes for 20 minutes
  3. Write Listed update for 10 minutes

***Lisa-Marie


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Lisa-Marie
All posts