Task 3 Proposal

Dear Members of the Board,
I would like to come over to the youth conference to talk about how the role of art can develop empathy for people and groups who live lives that are different to your own.

At least once in our lives, we have heard about people who have an injury that can affect the rest of their lives. For example, when I was around the age of 12, we had to read a book called "Who's life is it anyway". This book showed us how difficult it was for a man to survive the rest of his life after becoming a quadriplegic. I was aware that people who have had an injury can really affect the rest of their life, but after reading this book, I was more aware of how tough it can be for them to get back to their original state.

For example, with the quadriplegic in the book "Who's life is it anyway", we found out that the main character would not be able to move on his own for the rest of his life. The patients' mental state was so low and it caused him to think about suicide. For me, as a reader, I realised that since it was a non-fictional book, someone has actually been through all this pain and has considered taking euthanasia.

Personally, I think that exposing these children to the problem of euthanasia and empathy is really important, especially if they are exposed to it early on in their lives because this speech can be a lesson they can use for their entire lives. Please consider my proposal!

Kind regards,
Rushil Shah


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Rushil
All posts