My Tech Stack

One of the most common questions I get asked revolves around my tech stack.
Those of you who know me, know that I re-evaluate it on a very (some would say, annoyingly) regular basis.... pretty much every year. This sometimes pisses off those who I work with since I am the one in charge of choosing the hardware and software for all three of our companies, but in the world of technology, everything can change at the drop of a hat. What you were using yesterday may not be the best anymore, or it may have new critical vulnerabilities that post substantial liability, or literally thousands of other issues.
For this reason, I make a point of re-evaluating annually to ensure that I/we not only have the best option available, but that we are also safe from any potential problem that may occur.
To that end, I thought it would be a good idea to post about my tech stack and provide a brief description as to why I use each and provide possible alternatives, where available.
NOTE: This will also be a "living post" so as I update my tech stack, I will update this post to reflect that

Hardware

  • Laptop: Framework Laptop Gen2
  • Desktop: Intel NUC 11 Enthusiast (Phantom Canyon)
  • Monitor: Samsung Ultrawide
  • UMPC: GPD MicroPC
  • Thin Client(s): Shadow (Main), Paperspace (with custom images for specific use cases)

When it comes to software, everything I use has to follow a handful of hard rules;

  1. The MUST be platform agnostic!
  2. The must either A) provide custodial data rights, or allow you to easily and quickly export your data to a "no bullshit" format/formatting
  3. Frictionless Onboarding/Offboarding
  4. Solid UX/Ease of Use
  5. Software Maturity

The following is not so much a rule, but a preference and whenever possible, I use;

Software

  • Password Wallet: Bitwarden (Main), KeePass (fallback/hardcopy)
  • I go into much greater detail on Password Wallets in THIS post, so I would suggest you read that as well.
  • 2FA/MFA: Authy
  • VPN: ProtonVPN
  • Session Manager: Toby
  • Clipboard Manager: Clipboard Fusion

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Steve Chepp
All posts