The Character of a Muslim

image

Good Character

This is such an important part of Islam. And I have always valued it before and after reverting to the religion. It was one of the key things that drew me to the religion. Both in the way it is prescribed by the religion - but also in how those whom I knew and met over the years carried themselves.

There are individuals I know from the past - who had been through terrible trials and situations, and by all accounts. With all evidence gathered, they should have been completely destroyed as a people. It will have no doubt effected them, but the level of strength and kindness I saw in them, and the friendliness and respect that they granted me was something that will stick with me for as long as I am able to remember.

The kindness and good character that I saw in Muslims that I met was notable, whether they had a hard back story that I knew of, or otherwise. Some of these people will forever stand as a positive example in my mind. It is very likely that how they were, and how I saw them act is a significant part of what drew me to and made me more interested in the religion.


The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said: “I have only been sent to perfect good characteristics.” (Narrated by al-Bukhari in al-Adab al-Mufrad (273) and classed as sahih by al-Albani in As-Silsilah As-Sahihah, 45) 

Abu Hurayrah (may Allah be pleased with him) said: The Messenger of Allah (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) was asked about that which will admit most people to Paradise. He said: “Fear of Allah and a good attitude.” (Narrated by At-Tirmidhi (2004); he said it is sahih gharib. It was classed as sahih by Al-Albani in Sahih At-Tirmidhi.) 

https://islamqa.info/en/answers/101023/how-to-acquire-good-characteristics-in-islam


As with anything, developing takes time and practice. I was watching a lecture just yesterday that described having patience (Sabr) is not something you just 'get'. It is like a muscle, the first time you lift something it is hard, but each time you lift said 'thing' it becomes a little easier than the last time.

Sabr, being just one of the aspects of having good character that permeates someone's life. If I really work at it, over time, I could hope to get to having good character.

Reflecting on those who had been kind to me, and those who had, in a way, impressed me; perhaps they were fortunate enough to have been brought up in an environment that encouraged strength of character - but true or false, the strength I witnessed in them was not 'just' down to this. I think, that they must have worked at it and tried a bit too.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Adam
All posts