#45 We All Deserve To Be Happy

We never fully enjoy being happy. Something runs at the back of our minds. A voice alerts us saying "You seem too happy! It's time to prepare for the worst". We immediately start questioning ourselves.

How long is this happiness going to last? Do I deserve to be happy? Is this happening because something bad is going to happen later on? What if something happens to me or to those I love? and so on.

I don't know about you, but I feel this way whenever I am excited or happy. But, lately, I've been wondering why is this happening? And, I found something interesting.

A major portion of this mindset comes from our surroundings. Everything and everyone around us tells us that being happy is not long-lasting. Everything from the novels we read to the movies we watch sends out the same message. You see a perfectly happy family and cut to the next scene, things go horribly wrong. There will be a genuine and amazing character you love in a novel and a monster will come in and chew their head off.

Even at our home, we hear our parents and relatives say "Life is always a struggle. I can't think of the last time I was happy" and so on. Do you know a lot of people don't say "I'm great!" or "I'm doing fantastic" when someone asked them "How're you?". Instead, they say "I'm okay" to be safe.

All of this together makes us sad even though we're presented with an occasion to be happy. By being sad about not being happy later, we're not being happy when we're actually happy!

Dalai Lama said, “Happiness comes from your own actions.”

It is in our hands to enjoy happiness to its fullest. Of course, happiness in life is not a constant thing. It ebbs and flows with time. The best thing we could do is cherish the good moments, experience them to the fullest and face the worst when the time comes. Just remember this. We all deserve to be happy.

I'm not just writing this for you. I am writing this for myself.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts