#46 Old men are insensitive

This is a rant.

Today, I bumped into an old man in my apartment who was trying to get into an elevator. He asked me where I lived in the apartment?

In less than one minute, he asked me where I work, where my wife works and ended the conversation with "try and have a kid. Work can come later".  That's all. He shut the doors of the elevator and went off to the second floor. I was appalled by his lack of common sense, etiquette, sensitivity.

He didn't ask my name. I helped him by opening the elevator doors. He didn't say thanks. But, he wants me to have a kid. Because for some reason he thought I work too much. The old man doesn't know shit! He doesn't know my background, family, health or medical scenarios. And, it is not like he is going to include my kid's name in his will. So, why the fuck does he care!

I'm not angry because of him. I am angry because, we live in a society full of insensitive, old people. They simply take their age for granted. There...I said it.

They think they can walk away by saying things like "have a kid", "have a second kid", "don't give your kid a private room", "get your daughter married soon. 21 is a good age.", "don't send her to the US for higher studies". They're living, walking spam popups you can close. I know my dad's friend who once asked my salary and said "you haven't reached my expectations". Well, fuck you uncle!

Old age shouldn't help people in getting that extra 0.5% interest rate or a seat in the bus. It should bring one maturity. Give them the ability to put themselves in the shoes of others. Should give them the ability to be sensitive, be kind, and the basic manners to not ask someone to have a kid one minute into meeting them.

If you're old and reading this, try not to be this uncle. Be nice. I love nice, old people.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Atomic Essays by KP
All posts