Directed by David Lynch

321

I came across this recently:

And it reminded me of a technique I use from time to time to distance myself from everything going on.

Basically, you do a thought expermient where you are the lead character of a movie. Everything around you is scripted. Ask yourself; what do you do? How do you behave? What do you think?

Sometimes, it's necessary to imagine that we're in a different world, where current events and struggles don't apply. Some, of course, go too deep into a made-up world and never truly come out of it - that's very unhealthy.

But when you just use it as a simple thought expermient, a quick getaway for you to gain perspective about life, then it is really helpful and effective.

Even when the movie is directed my David Lynch.

More from In Search For Balance
All posts