The Next Destination

389

June has always been a month of reflection for me. A few key events collide in June: my birthday, the academic year ends here in Poland, and a few of my closest friends also have their birthdays. It's a 30-day period of finishing up not-yet-done things, reflecting on the whole past year, and deciding where to go next.

While I do also get this feeling during late December/early January, it is usually stronger in June. So, basically, I get two major reflections a year.

But, while in December I do get a real break (Christmas & New Years), there is usually no such break in June. That makes the whole reflecting and summarizing thing much, much harder. Year after year I was promising myself go about it differently this time. Only to fail continuously.

This year I said: enough, I have to do it differently. And so I did. Right now I am still on my sabbatical, and am planning to take the next week very lightly. My birthday is this Wednesday - so I'm going to take that day off, too.

Reviewing the past & understanding what can happen in the future is an absolutely amazing skill. It's something we're too way too often inclined to ignore. It's not something we're taught at school. Sadly.

More from In Search For Balance
All posts