Closing A Chapter

391

Letting go of something we ourselves have created is never easy. There is just this special connection between you and something you created from start to finish. And the bigger the project is, the more time you've poured into it, the harder it is to let it go away graciously.

Omnia mutantur, nihil interit.

My biggest Internet project to date, Produktywny Uczeń just finished it's first podcast season. It was a decision I was wrestling with till the last minute: should I end? or should I go on?. Theoretically, I could've. Summer is approaching, which means I'm going to be free from all academic stuff for a significant amount of time. Of course, I mainly want to focus on meaningful rest & spending time with my friends & family, but in the end I'm also going to work on a few projects.

It was hard for me to let go because it felt like I just started. I published the first episode on September 23rd, 2019, and published 15 episodes since. That's not so much. But, ultimately, I realized that writing, recording & producing that podcast took too much time to keep it up during the summer. I know I have to generally slow down in the coming months, and I have a few completely new projects in line.

Every good book has chapters. They're individual pieces of a complete story. A story worth telling has its ups and downs, left and right turns, accelerations and slowdowns. But, eventually, every story will end. Before it ends though, everything unsaid has to be said.

Time to write a new one.

More from In Search For Balance
All posts