Underqualified To Handle Oneself

412

For those of us who have a tendency to speak & act as fast as possible, the whole idea of slowing down and stopping to think may seem counterproductive. The best time to do something is always now, right?

One thing I have found very important when dealing with tough issues is this:

Make sure whether or not I am the most qualified person to handle the issue I'm dealing with. Even when the issue directly relates to me, or is simply, about me, I still might not be the best person to handle it.

Understanding when outside help is needed is a crucial, but tough to learn skill. Maybe a coach is needed, maybe a mediator. Maybe an auditor. Or maybe, just a friend who holds overall different opinions.

You are not invincible. No one is. Anyone who is trying to be invincible and all-knowing is fundamentally wrong.

More from In Search For Balance
All posts