Plan Or Nothing

418

I have been planning almost every single day for the past 2.5 years. Here, I said it.

What planning has taught me about life is that knowing your intentions is a critical thing to do every single day. That while doing things for the sake of doing is oftentimes good, knowing what you care about and sticking to it is crucial.

Why? Being intentional usually means adhering to your core values. Why should someone adhere to their core values? Because it makes taking action in live easier. You know why you're doing the things you're doing, which makes discovering the what much easier.

For me, a day without even a tiny embryo of a plan almost doesn't exist. It's a kind of a nothing-burger; it's there, but there isn't any meat inside of it.

When I plan, I know why I'm doing the things I'm doing. I feel confident that what I'm deciding to do is the best use of my time possible, or at least so it seems in the moment. Even when I'm planning a day of rest, I still like to spend at least 30 seconds thinking "what and when can I do to make it a good day"?

Because, usually, even that, just by itself, makes the day a better one.

More from In Search For Balance
All posts