Coup Attempt

597

Politics, as a thing, is not something I tend to like. I have my opinions, but hardly ever share them. I do read the news, but usually one or two times a week. And I often get them of off Wikipedia - seriously, it's a great news source. Un-biased, no-breaking-news-flashing-in-your-face.

You all know what happened today at the American Capitol. A mob stormed the building and tried to overturn the election results. Ok, let's call it what it truly was: a coup attempt.

I do truly understand some of the reasons why people voted for Trump. I don't agree with them, but I can understand them, at least in part. What I can't fathom is why they stopped supporting democracy, the thing that allowed them to elect Trump in the first place.

As an outsider, it looks simply tragic. My country knows how life without democracy looks like; let me tell you, it's terrible. In 1939, we got invaded by two dictatorships that murdered us, pillaged our houses, destroyed everything we were and we had.

Trust me, democracy is not perfect; but it's the best we can do. It's also extremely fragile.

Don't be the one to break it.

More from In Search For Balance
All posts