Lagging Behind

603

I've been lagging behind with writing daily this past month. I even wrote about it already.

Even though I truly did slip up in December, I kind of intentionally continued to not write daily for a while. As you can see, I still wrote posts for every single day. But, I didn't necessarily write them on the day. Rather, in bulk, few at a time.

Building good habits is the best way to grow. And, surely, I'm very proud of the daily writing habit I've built. I've said it before and I'll say it again: creating this blog has been one of the best things I'v done in life.

Yet, sometime in October, I started getting this feeling that the habit is controlling me. Because I've been writing daily for so long, I had it "engraved" in my identity. In a way, I couldn't break away from it. I'd sacrifice sleep, time with friends/family, just to not break the chain.

I wanted to prove to myself that I control the blog, not the other way around. Would I still enjoy writing after breaking away for a while? Would I enjoy it enough to catch up?

Yes.

More from In Search For Balance
All posts