What's next? - 67

"Just having a rough week. Once I get through these next few days I'll be good."

"Yeah, I'm just a lot busier than usual. It's fine."

"No, it's cool - I'm just tired."

Home stretch. Two weeks till break

Two more hours until the weekend.


Life is passing me by. I live day-by-day, week-by-week, task-by-task. Everything is just a task or event, something else for me to get through in pursuit of the next restless break.

It's not about me. It's about what's next.

Just how things are, I guess.


I've been reading Deep Work by Cal Newport (I'm not at all under the impression that I am unique in this respect. In fact, there's an entire ). I just finished a chapter early in the second part of his book, one that addresses various 'deep work philosophies': strategies to aid in consistently getting deep work in. One such philosophy is called 'the monastic philosophy'. Essentially, there's a group of writers, mathematicians, and scholars that simply lock themselves away from distraction and go for very extensive periods of focus. With some, this becomes literally their life; they very rarely do anything that is not in pursuit of their goal (whatever it may be), instead choosing to spend each day in a flow state as best they can.

I wish I could lock myself away like that. What a life. 

-branches


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from branches
All posts